April 19

Week 3

I tried to make a simple wood knife out of the willow wood. It was really hard to carve and ended up cutting my finger twice. I have not finished it yet as I ran out of time, but I will finish the handle and blade this week. I would like to make a full sized sword and I will probably start part of that next week.

I finished the knife but I didn’t smooth it out or make it super even as it was becoming to thin and brittle in some parts and the handle and blade where really unbalanced. The biggest challenge was to work around a knot in the wood that happened to be right in the middle of the blade. I had to saw off little bits as my other knife couldn’t cut through it.


Posted April 19, 2023 by marikaott22 in category Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*