April 19

Week 5

I still have not decided what type of wood I’m going to use for the sword. I found a couple woods that I thought might work but my dad said they would be too soft or some of them would not hold together properly. One of my other projects was to make a cane/walking stick thing. It was a fairly easy project but I still had a couple struggles. The first problem was that the piece of wood I had was to wide and I had to shave down many layers, all the while keeping it straight. I practiced using a debarking tool ,that I can’t remember the name of, which helped make the cuts a lot smoother and straight. I also struggled a bit with the top. knew I wanted a round top that was comfortable to rest your hand on and easy to grip. Trying to carve circles and make things round is a challenge that I have to overcome.


Posted April 19, 2023 by marikaott22 in category Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*